The Love of an Italian Dragon: Song of Italian Dragons Op. theme (Poetry Sunday)


Lyrics for the not-yet-made Opening theme for my Goodreads poetry-novel, The Love of an Italian Dragon. The video attached somewhat inpired the song. Here’s the link: http://www.goodreads.com/story/show/295904-the-love-of-an-italian-dragon

PLOT: Ashuton Karrucci, the God of Dragons, meets Narcissus Cartwright, and the result turns into an all-out racial war in Rome. In the other side of the story, the Karrucci family struggles in a war against the insect empire Lucerano.

____________________________________________________________________

Il Drago che anima

questo drago anima che anima

so…

un drago che prega per i suoi dèi

questo drago che amo

si trova in pericolo tutti i giorni

C’è un drago nel mio cuore

un drago dalla galassia

egli è un figlio di cicale

questo drago è un figlio d’Italia

questo drago mi appartiene

e io lo amo, questo drago

(the dragon soul/the dragon soul that animates/I know/a dragon that prays to his gods/this dragon that I love/finds himself in peril everyday/there’s a dragon in my heart/a dragon from the galaxy/he is a son of cicadas/this dragon is a son of Italy/this dragon belongs to me/and I love him, this dragon)

New sunlight dawns the window of my apartment

This day signals the start of my daily routine

Out to the Piazza is where I will go

To the Colosseo is where my road takes me

It’s surrounded by dragons basking in the Italian sun

The dragons are flying everywhere, resting atop buildings and strolling the streets

They speak the languages of Italia

They know better than I how to be Italian

…because they are

The noisy cars all pass my by

I cross the cobble streets to reach the busy market

Beside me is this dragon I know

This dragon—a man—is precious to me

questo drago pestilenza

questo drago della felicità

questo drago seduta

questo drago crudeltà

questo drago infedeltà

questo drago amore

questo drago tristezza

questo drago propria sessualità

questo drago in rovina

(This dragon’s pestilence/this dragon of happiness/this dragon’s séance/this dragon’s cruelty/this dragon’s infidelity/this dragon’s love/this dragon’s sadness/this dragon’s sexuality/this dragon in ruins/)

The dragon soul which animates…

…both human and dragon…

…shifting from one essence to the other, an almost ethereal transfer

I see him there where others do not

On this Italian soil, I become one with the people

And I’m no longer a tourist of another culture

I absorb their ways of life and see the sunshine from heaven

The dragons all know where I come from

They accept me as one of them

I converted, no longer obverted

I’m Italian with chocolate on the outside

cicala d’Italia

drago d’Italia

drago anima della lingua italiana

drago etereo

drago del diluvio

drago di indipendenza

drago di guerra

drago d’amore

c’è un drago nel mio cuore

(cicada of Italy/dragon of Italy/dragon soul of Italians/ethereal dragon/dragon of the flood/dragon of independence/dragon of war/dragon of love/there’s a dragon in my heart)

Towards the piazza

A day for gelato

A day for seeking out grand cheese

A day for wine

A day for politics

A day for seeing the country’s true turmoil

These dragons know who I am

The Italians know where my home is

I don’t know, but I will know

That this dragon beside me is the man I love

L’anima drago che anima …

sia umane che drago …

passando da uno all’altro essenza, un trasferimento quasi eterea

(The dragon soul which animates…

both human and dragon…

passing from one to another essence, a transfer almost ethereal)

Il Drago che anima

questo drago anima che anima

so…

un drago che prega per i suoi dèi

questo drago che amo

si trova in pericolo tutti i giorni

C’è un drago nel mio cuore

un drago dalla galassia

egli è un figlio di cicale

questo drago è un figlio d’Italia

questo drago mi appartiene

e io lo amo, questo drago

_________________________________________________________________

Can be sung to this song from the Dra+Koi short story, which I found (and downloaded) today:

1 comment
  1. Just desire to say your article is as astounding. The clarity in your post is simply great and i could assume you are an expert on this subject. Fine with your permission let me to grab your feed to keep up to date with forthcoming post. Thanks a million and please keep up the enjoyable work.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 66 other followers

