Beasts of the Southern Wild Review


20130222-140621.jpg

(I saw this three nights ago. Here is my review).

This is the second time I’ve been lied to by an indie. The first time was last night (cough*The Unloved*cough). Don’t expect this to be a film about a Daenerys Targayen black girl searching for her father in a world taken over by beasts (and don’t expect these beasts to accompany her either). I thought this would be a fantasy film (and the first ever outright fantasy film starring a black girl) but its not. Somewhere I read that the plot was about a girl that goes searching for her daddy in a world being taken over by prehistoric beats, but that wasn’t much of the case in this film. Don’t expect high fantasy, I already said that. I just finished it and I am just cleaning my tears. Review is below, spoilers will be mild.

The film is more like a little girl’s analysis on life. The film is actually very slow because of the character development and mostly because it shows us

Hushpuppy’s (that’s her name) life in the Bayou. While there are prehistoric beasts, they (and the girl’s search for her father) were not the basis of the film. It was about the girl’s bond with her father and how he raised her to be a strong girl. I like to call Hushpuppy a Black Daenerys mostly because she is strong, innocent and tames a beast (that is sadly not a dragon).

I am very disappointed that this wasn’t a fantasy adventure, but I still kinda liked it. But know this when I say IT WAS DEPRESSING. In terms of how hard the depression was, let me say it beat the DEAD ISLAND song and trailer, it beat SwomSwom’s Goodbye My Friend and it beat the saddest story I ever wrote. You can find those linked at the bottom. I cried 29 minutes before it ended, I cried when the girl SPOILER**found her mommy**SPOLER OVER and I cried at the end. I also sniffles at some of the parts where the girl and her daddy were having those father-daughter moments towards the end. Damn, this film is sad. It’s sad because the depression is so f*ing real! A little girl faced with something like that,

No, this film is not about the apocalypse
It’s not about a world overrun with beasts
It’s about a girl dealing with an apocalypse that strikes her life
An apocalypse that hits home
A personal apocalypse.
And because of that, this film made me feel disappointed and happy. Disappointed because it was not what I expected and happy because of how the girl “grew” throughout the film and how “at home” this film felt (even though I never lived in the country).
I am torn between ratings.
I don’t know if this is a 2 star film or a 4 star film.
I am truly torn.
And because of that, this film will be a double rating: a 2 star and a 4 star.
(Although this film needed some country dragons, but that’s my opinion (mostly because I like dragons)).
I recommend this to anyone, but don’t expect a shitload of violence like negative reviews say.

And to the people calling this film racist, be quiet up and enjoy it. If you hate it, that’s you. If you love it, okay. Just enjoy life for what it is. Stop hating on everything. Stop being negative for once and just enjoy life before it fudge-ing kills you.

Finally: the soundtrack was great. It reminded me of Haruka Shimotsuki’s Gaelic songs (Koku Kanadeshi Uta, Hanamatsuri, etc). The beginning song sounded A LOT like the beginning of Akiko Shikata’s Afezeria HARVESTASYA. Interestingly, this film inspired a mini movie in my head, Tree of the South, which is about common aspects of Dragons & Cicadas like The Annihilation, Ashuton’s son and The Dragonblood Tree. It had a nice soundtrack, too. The Tree of the South’s title is the name of Rekka Katakiri’s song, Nanten no Ki, which also translates to Tree of the South. You can find that song on her album Kinema in the Hole (yes its Kinema).

My rating system:

1: did not like it. At all.
2: it was okay
3: I liked it, it might be a favorite
4: I loved it! I’ll watch it over and over!
The Dragon Grade: this movie is one of my favorites. It’s high caliber in cinematography, story, character development and soundtrack make it a work of art. Rarely does a film become my personal deep favorite.

DEAD ISLAND THEME:

SWOMSWOM’S GOODBYE MY FRIEND: found on DeviantArt
COLDPLAY VERSION:

Leave a Reply

